Delhi University Botanical Society (DUBS)

Founded in 1950 by Professor P. Maheshwari, DUBS may be the only student society at the University of Delhi to have continued this long. The objectives of the society, as outlined in the first issue of the first volume of the magazine "The Botanica," are to introduce to students various aspects of Botany that are not usually dealt with in the classroom and to give them a well-rounded education by organizing various co- and extra curricular activities like field trips for plant collection, lectures and training workshops by eminent scientists, seminars, debates, quizzes, paper presentation competitions. The Society continues to pursue these objectives with great enthusiasm and hopes to continue to do so in the years to come.

OFFICE BEARERS, 2016-2017:
President Ms Shikha Prasad (Ph.D.)
Vice President Mr. Mukund Lal (Ph.D.)
General Secretary Mr. Sahil Mehta (M.Sc. Final)
Organising Secretary Mr. Arjun Adit
Joint Secretary Ms Sheh Kunwar (M.Sc. Previous)
Class Representatives  
Ph.D Ms Ekta Bhardwaj
M.Sc.(Final) Ms Nasmeen Hakim
M.Sc.(Previous) Ms Ruchi Bhatt

Chairperson & HOD Prof. Ved Pal Singh
Staff Advisor Prof. Veena Agrawal
Treasurer Dr. Girish Mishra

The Delhi University Botanical Society publishes the scientific journal THE BOTANICA once a year.


  • Dr. Rupam Kapoor

Editorial Board:

  • Nidhi S. Chandra
  • Ankita Bidalia
  • Pawan Parashar
  • Garima Anand
  • Neeraja Singh
  • Isha Kohli
  • Saurab Anand
  • Devender Singh Meena

International Society of Plant Morphologists (ISPM)

The Society* was founded in 1951 to promote "international cooperation in the study of, and diffusion of useful knowledge in, the fields of Plant Morphology, Anatomy and Embryology". Past presidents include illuminaries of the field, such as P. Maheshwari, I. W. Bailey, B.M. Johri, A.S. Foster, V. Puri, J. Heslop-harrison and H. Y. Mohan Ram. Coverage of disciplines has now been expanded to plant sciences in general and interdisciplinary studies in particular. The office of the Society is located in the premises of the Department of Botany.
*Registered under the Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860 (Registration No. S/6/8 of 1953-1954, dated 28 April 1953)


Phytomorphology is an international journal published by the International Society of Plant Morphologists, and housed at the Department of Botany, University of Delhi. The journal, established in 1951, was dedicated to publication in the areas of plant morphology and embryology, two strengths of the Department through the 1950's to the 1970's. Subsequently, the journal was opened up to publication in other areas of plant sciences. The journal is now up to volume 66. The editor-in-Chief, Prof. R. Geeta (Department of Botany, University of Delhi), is supported by about 20 members of the editorial board.